Cachet: Designers’ Choice


First Lady Michelle Obama brought the 10th Annual National Design Awards to DC with a White House ceremony honoring the recipients on July 24, 2009. Issued by the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, the awards recognize excellence and innovation in design; this year’s winners included SHoP Architects for architecture, Hood Design for landscape design and TsAO McKOWN Architects for interior design.

The event featured public education programs, panel discussions and workshops. It also publicized National Design Week, which will take place in New York’s Cooper-Hewitt Museum from October 18 to 24, when the museum will launch an exhibit featuring National Design Award winners from the past 10 years. Titled “Design USA: Contemporary Innovation,” it will be on view through April 4, 2010.

For information about National Design Week and a full list of 2009 award recipients, visit