A bamboo sleeve for a Dell laptop by New Deal Design.
Miami Bayfront Garden.
Sonoma Vineyard Estate by Aidlin Darling Design
Marble Curtain, a structure by Studio Gang Architects that was exhibited at the National Building Museum.

2013 National Design Awards

A celebration of excellence and innovation

2013 National Design Awards The National Design Awards represent every avenue of design from architecture, interiors and landscape to fashion, graphics and media. Each 2013 recipient has submitted a body of work that demonstrates a lasting achievement and in some way shapes the world around them.

Winners are chosen by a jury of design professionals. This year’s honorees in home-design categories include James Wines of the New York architectural studio SITE for lifetime achievement; architect and urbanist Michael Sorkin; San Francisco interior design firm Aidlin Darling Design; Chicago firm Studio Gang Architects; and Philadelphia landscape designer Margie Ruddick.

Conceived by the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, the National Design Awards season culminates in a White House ceremony presided over by the First Lady and a gala benefit dinner and awards ceremony, held this year at Pier Sixty in Manhattan. In conjunction with the National Design Awards program, Cooper-Hewitt sponsors National Design Week, October 12 through 20, a series of free public programs hosted by the museum’s education department and based on the vision and work of the awards honorees. Proceeds from the gala benefit Cooper-Hewitt. For information on the awards festivities and National Design Week, visit cooperhewitt.org.