Hall of Fame Architect: <br> David Jameson, FAIA
Hall of Fame Interior Designer: Thomas Pheasant
Hall of Fame Landscape Designer: Jay Graham, FASLA
Hall of Fame Landscape Designer: Richard Arentz, ASLA
Hall of Fame Kitchen Designer: Hedy Shashaani
Hall of Fame Custom Builder:<br> BOWA
Hall of Fame Design/Build Firm: Gilday Renovations
Hall of Fame Landscape Firm:<br> Botanical Decorators
Favorite Modern Architect:<br> Robert M. Gurney, FAIA
Favorite Traditional Architect: David Jones , AIA

2012 Designers

Our annual survey of area designers and architects reveals their industry favorites

Sourcebook 2012

Each year, Home & Design polls hundreds of industry professionals to glean their picks for  the leaders in this innovative, ever-evolving community—as well as their votes of confidence in those just making their mark. We also ask area architects and designers to vote on their favorite industry resources, in categories ranging from lighting and appliance showrooms to drapery fabricators and art galleries. Following is a list of the complete survey results.

Hall of Fame Interior Designer
Thomas Pheasant, Thomas Pheasant, Washington, DC

Hall of Fame Architect
David Jameson, FAIA, David Jameson Architect, Inc., Alexandria, Virginia

Hall of Fame Landscape Designers
Jay Graham, FASLA, Graham Landscape Architecture, Annapolis, Maryland; and Richard Arentz, ASLA, Arentz Landscape Architects, LLC, Washington, DC, and Warrenton, Virginia

Hall of Fame Kitchen Designer
Hedy Shashaani, Jack Rosen Custom Kitchens, Rockville, Maryland

Hall of Fame Custom Builder
BOWA, McLean, Virginia

Hall of Fame Design/Build Firm
Gilday Renovations, Silver Spring, Maryland

Hall of Fame Landscape Firm
Botanical Decorators, Olney, Maryland

Favorite Modern Architect
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA, Robert Gurney Architect, Washington, DC

Favorite Traditional Architect
David Jones , AIA, David Jones Architects, Washington, DC

Up & Coming interior Designers
Kristin Peake, Kristin Peake Interiors, LLC, Rockville, Maryland; and Samantha Friedman, ASID, Samantha Friedman Interior Designs, LLC, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Up and Coming Architect
Benjamin Ames, AIA, Alexandria, Virginia; and Elizabeth Emerson and Mark Lawrence, AIA, E/L Studio Architecture, Cheverly, Maryland

Favorite Antiques Dealers
David Bell Antiques, Washington, DC; 1stdibs.com; and GoodWood, Washington, DC, goodwooddc.com

Favorite Appliance Showroom
Appliance Distributors Unlimited, Chantilly, Virginia, adu.com

Favorite Art Gallery
Cross MacKenzie Gallery, Washington, DC,  crossmackenzie.com

Favorite Audio/Video Specialist
Bethesda Systems, , Bethesda, Maryland,  bethesdasystems.com

Favorite Cady’s Alley Showroom
BoConcept, Washington, DC, boconcept.com

Favorite Custom Closet Company
Capitol Closet Design, Washington, DC,capitolclosets.com

Favorite Decorative Painting Company
The Valley Craftsmen, Ltd., Baltimore, Maryland, valleycraftsmen.com

Favorite Design Center Showroom
AmericanEye, Washington, DC, americaneyewdc.net

Favorite Drapery Fabricator
Carlos Interiors, Crofton, Maryland, carlosinteriors.hdwfg.com

Favorite Fabric Showroom
Brunschwig & Fils, Washington, DC, brunschwig.com

Favorite Fixtures Showroom
WT Weaver & Sons, Washington, DC, weaverhardware.com

Favorite Flooring Resource (dealer)
Abbey Design Center, Leesburg and Sterling, Virginia, abbeycarpetflooringcenter.com

Favorite Furnishings  (to the trade)
Holly Hunt, Washington DC, hollyhunt.com

Favorite Furniture Maker
David Edward, Baltimore, Maryland, davidedward.com

Favorite Furniture Showrooms
(contemporary retail
)
Room & Board, Washington, DC, roomandboard.com
(traditional retail)
Kellogg Collection,     Washington, DC, kelloggcollection.com

Favorite Lighting Dealer
Maurice Electric, Rockville, Maryland, mauriceelectric.com

Favorite Surfaces Showroom
Marble Systems, Merrifield, Virginia, marblesystems.com

Favorite Tile Showroom
Porcelanosa, Rockville, Maryland, porcelanosa-usa.com

Favorite Wall Coverings Showroom
Scalamandré, Washington, DC,scalamandre.com